Hikers and mountaineers will come across the
Papaya River
before they even reach
Tarak Ridge in Mariveles Bataan.
Some would intend to camp out the night near the river before
pushing through for the treacherous hike to the ridge.
On March 24, 2011, that's exactly what we did.
Initially it was supposed to be my good friend
Karlo and I
who will make the trip but even before we left, we saw
Nelvin and Dariel
and they decided to come along.
We were then a group of four.
We left Alas-Asin around 7pm and arrived at the river by 820pm.
We pitched the
two tents
we brought and ate dinner consisting of mahling and the rice we awesomely cooked over
a fire we ourselves made.
We drank Emperador Light to chill and headed to bed soon after. The water was fuckin cold so taking a dip was unanimously decided to be a definite no no. It was a very rocky night. Literally!
Everywhere we turn our backs would hit something under our tents and it all made our night miserable.
The following morning (March 25, 2011), around 9am we agreed on trekking for the ridge. And after an hour we were there. It was breathtaking as usual.
Then we decided to go down and aimed at reaching our own houses before 2pm. Upon reaching Papaya River, Karlo took a brief dip and refreshed himself with the icy water. Nelvin and Dariel ate what's left from our breakfast and I decided to fix the rest of the stuff I will be carrying back.
That's where and when everything went wrong for me.
Unknowingly, I left this freakin
Polarized Oakley Shades my good buddy George lent me.
I realized that this shit wasn't in my bag when we were already near town. How freakin fucked up is that right? I wanted to go back but I know my feet and legs won't be able to hold up. So I decided to head home and deal with the shades later. We touched down around 150pm. I ate and slept. Woke up at around 8pm and decided to go back to Papaya River. I was certain that's the place where I left it.
Luckily, another good friend agreed to come with me.
Jhong was up for it.
Hell even if I'll be going alone, I wouldn't care. I'd still go back and get it myself.
We left my house at around 920 pm and came back at exactly 1210. That's less than three hours.
And yeah, I got the shades back.















No comments:
Post a Comment